Reminds me of…

 

I Saw a Peacock, with a fiery tail,
I saw a Blazing Comet, drop down hail,
I saw a Cloud, with Ivy circled round,
I saw a sturdy Oak, creep on the ground,
I saw a Pismire, swallow up a Whale,
I saw a raging Sea, brim full of Ale,
I saw a Venice Glass, Sixteen foot deep,
I saw a well, full of mens tears that weep,
I saw their eyes, all in a flame of fire,
I saw a House, as big as the Moon and higher,
I saw the Sun, even in the midst of night,
I saw the man, that saw this wondrous sight.
-Anonymous

(courtesy: POTW)

reminds me of Brahms’ phrases that start on odd beats – in this case the Clarinet Quintet:

(starting on the 6th beat and ending in 2 bar “reset” before the da capo/repeat)

***

Sibelius’ 5th Symphony’s Swan Song

reminds me of:

Beethoven 8th’s Klangfarbenmelodie

 

 

About jfkwt

A little person on a little island in a little planet

Posted on September 8, 2019, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment